Tarte Tarteist Mascara Review

I’ve been really good recently with not having more than one mascara on the go at a time. Mid-December curiosity got the better of me as I’d been dying to try out the Tarte Tarteist Mascara that I’d had in my collection since October thanks to my last Tili Box. I’d been saving it as my next one to try once I’d finished the one that I was on… and still to be reviewed, but it’s now been the one I’ve been using pretty solidly since opening it up.

So lets start where I usually start, with the packaging. I always thought the name of this was pronounced “Tartiest” rather than “Tartist” – and it wasn’t until this arrived and I spotted that the box was shaped like an artists palette that I put two and two together. The packaging is matte black with shiny foily gold and looks very chic and eyecatching. Inside the box the tube of the mascara matches up perfectly with a black paint splattered gold lid and black and gold tube.

tarteist-mascara-box-tarte

The mascara is pegged as a “lash paint”, in the UK this is available exclusively from QVC and is priced at £22. The wand is usually my least favourite being rubber bristled rather than bristles. Its a more rounded shape that’s slightly tapered towards each end, the bristles are slightly rigid and don’t seem to move at all as I wiggle the wand through my lashes.

tarteist-mascara-wand-tarte

One thing I’ve noticed about this mascara is that it’s application varies dramatically depending on the room temperature. If my room is cold and I’m applying this in the morning before the house has properly warmed up then this applies so much nicer, when the house is a little warmer this goes on so clumpy. It’s so strange as we’ll literally be talking a few degrees as our home doesn’t get really warm thanks to the fact we’re completely exposed and are surrounded by fields.


Beforetarte-tarteist-mascara-before-macro

After
tarte-tarteist-mascara-after-macro


(When used cold) the mascara is lengthening and separating, it adds a little bit of volume but it isn’t very heavy on that front whilst it’s enough to not make lashes look really spidery because it doesn’t have enough volume. The brush isn’t the nicest on the bottom lashes and needs a steady had as the fatness and stiffness of the brush and bristles can feel a bit clunky.

tarte-tarteist-mascara-close-up

tarte-tarteist-mascara-shot

The mascara doesn’t flake or smudge at all on me – it lasts really well through the day, and it isn’t a complete pain to remove by the end of the day. I’ve found a soaked Micellar Water pad or any cleanser seems to remove it easily. Overall, I like this mascara, but I don’t love it – I prefer something a little more volumising, and I think it’s kind of pricey for what it is. I think of Tarte as a middle of the road. £22 is really up there in mascara price.

To compare whilst I haven’t tried it I’ve heard incredible things about the Marc Jacobs mascaras – those are £18-£20. Previous mascara favourites of mine are YSL Faux Cils and Too Faced Better than Sex which are both £19. At £5-£3 more it makes it quite a pricey option compared to other brands which I’d put above Tarte price wise.

tarte-tarteist-mascara

tarte-tarteist-mascara-review


tarte-tarteist-mascara-wand

Have you tried this mascara or any others from Tarte?

rachael-signature

FacebookInstagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

54 Comments

  1. January 9, 2017 / 6:56 am

    wonderful review images are very good

  2. January 9, 2017 / 8:36 am

    I tried the deluxe sample of this but the bottle was different and didn’t have the thin neck the full size version has to get all the extra mascara off the brush so it clumped horribly. Strangest mascara bottle ever! It flaked really bad, but I think that’s due to having way to much on the brush lol. I agree the price tag is a little bit high for what it is. You look so lovely here by the way!!

    • January 9, 2017 / 10:21 am

      Sample sized mascaras can be so misleading – I remember loving one and when I bought the full size the wand was so long it was impossible to control!
      Sad that it didn’t work for you – and glad you agree about the price, I was expecting it to maybe be around the Β£15 mark was so surprised when it was Β£22!

      • January 10, 2017 / 6:37 am

        Oh no! That’s so disappointing when you expect one thing from the sample and the real thing doesn’t live up to expectations. I’m sure there are much better mascaras out there for that price!

  3. January 9, 2017 / 11:28 am

    The packaging is really simple but classy and I like it! I do also think this looks lovely on your lashes but the point you make about price is valid. If there’s something out there you prefer which is a few pounds cheaper, go for that one xx

  4. January 9, 2017 / 1:44 pm

    Lovely review as always! I really like the photos you’ve chosen as well as your overall makeup look!

  5. January 9, 2017 / 2:56 pm

    Beautiful lashes! Your eye makeup looks fabulous here! XO

  6. everlastingnikita
    January 9, 2017 / 4:10 pm

    This is the next Mascara I got to try. I was lucky enough to get a full size when I volunteered at Gen Beauty NYC. I can’t wait to see how it plays out with my lashes. Nice review!

  7. January 9, 2017 / 4:09 pm

    I’ve not started on mine yet, I’m trying to finish up the one I’m using. I can’t wait to start on it though! Your lashes look great using it, strange that the temperature affects the application though. Makeup is sometimes strange like that though😊 At least we got it in our Tili’s so you didn’t have to pay full price for the mascara x

    • January 9, 2017 / 4:12 pm

      I held off for as long as I could!
      Yes true, they’ve started teasing the next box (well the colour of it atleast!) seems ages since it arrived can’t wait to see what’s in this one!

  8. January 9, 2017 / 4:42 pm

    I’ve tried the sample size of this one! I liked it but the brush felt a little spiky for my lashes (granted I have very straight and short lashes). I found Tarte’s Lights Camera Lashes formula a bit lighter feeling which worked better for me personally but I didn’t hate Tarteist one.

  9. January 9, 2017 / 4:50 pm

    I’ve tried having only 1 mascara on the go but I just can’t! I always have an old “standby” mascara and then whatever new one I’m trying at the moment since invariably, they all disappoint me! πŸ˜›
    Actually, I think the name “Tartiest” would have been better than “Tartist” πŸ˜†
    Very interesting that the application depends on temperature… I always apply my mascara in the same place so the temperature is consistent!
    This looks nice but the price is a turn-off for me… I really refuse to pay more than $20 for a mascara… and that’s the upper limit. $10 is more of my comfort zone. The results looks mighty similar to what I can get with CoverGirl LashBlast Volume.

  10. January 9, 2017 / 5:07 pm

    This mascara looks like it works wonders, your eyes are so gorgeous! Great review.

  11. January 9, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    I like “tartiest” way better! LOL I think it’s amazing that you could tell a difference between the room temperature / cold room quality of the applications. I’m half asleep in the mornings so that would have slipped by me.. πŸ˜€ You are beautiful! XOXO

  12. Claire Talks Beauty
    January 9, 2017 / 5:25 pm

    I have heard great things about this mascara and now i can see that itbus really nice! I love the way it separates the lashes!

  13. January 9, 2017 / 6:05 pm

    This is an amazing mascara! Tarte is my area of pride here at work and I didn’t know the products were as good as they were until I began to use a couple of them. Great article! Follow my blog as well! ❀

  14. January 9, 2017 / 9:20 pm

    Love your look. And the mascara looks stunning on you πŸ‘ŒπŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

  15. January 9, 2017 / 10:16 pm

    That packaging is just sooo nice and your makeup look is gorgeous! πŸ’• great post!Xx

  16. January 10, 2017 / 5:13 pm

    The wand on this reminds me of the Benefit Ready Set Brow Gel. I can see it being a bit of a pain to apply.

    Thanks for sharing.

    xo https://lidsandtricks.com/

  17. January 19, 2017 / 2:54 pm

    What gold shadow are you using on the lid???

  18. March 9, 2017 / 6:53 am

    Before and after are crazy!! I didn’t also thought it was Tarteist! I love all things Tarte maybe I’ll have to try this too.

  19. May 11, 2017 / 2:53 pm

    OH! This mascara looks incredible! I’ve never tried Tarte Cosmetics. I need to now! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: