Benefit Air Patrol Review

Spotting an offer online to try the new Benefit Air Patrol BB Cream Eyelid Primer. I’m famously not a Benefit fan, I want to love it as much as everybody else seems to, but for me I find the brand over priced for what I get. More than anything I wanted to love this product as I think the packaging/styling of this product is so darn cute!

benefit-air-patrol-eye-primer-review

The little sample was packed about statistics about how highly rated it was in a consumer study. With stats such as 94% said it relieved dryness  and 93% said it felt calming and smoothing… personally I don’t suffer with dry eyelids (do people have dry eyelids?!) and I’m in the 7% of people who didn’t find it soothing or calming.

benefit-air-patrol-eye-primer-sample

Again, for me it’s another flawed product, I tried this a few times before going on holiday and found the colour of the base a bit too pigmented then, but on returning from holiday the colour match was even worse. There’s no shade selection with this – it’s currently the only colour so I can imagine those with darker skin tones are going to struggle to use this at all. I can just get away with it, however I have to pay far too much attention to making sure I cover every little spot otherwise I have tiny little yellow dots peeking out from within my eyeshadow.

benefit-air-patrol-eye-primer-swatch

I can’t deny that this product does help shadow last longer, but for me it’s outweighed by the odd colour shade. Pale colours are completely effected by the fact the base is really pigmentated, and personally I just don’t get the point! If it was sheerer this product would have got a thumbs up from me – although it’s no better in my opinion than any other eyeshadow primer, but I might have repurchased because the packaging is so cute!


If you’ve tried this please let me know how you got on!

rachael

Instagram: @helplesswhilstdrying  |  Twitter: @helplessdrying

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

20 Comments

  1. October 30, 2015 / 7:24 am

    I like your blog post, shame about the primer being too pigmented though…
    Please free to visit my blog. Its my second week of blogging 🙂 http://www.herquarters.com

  2. October 30, 2015 / 12:46 pm

    I hesitate to try anything from benefit as i always find more gimmick than actually quality products. Shame this was a dud but at least it was only a sample, I think I” stick with my urban decay primer potion 🙂

      • October 30, 2015 / 5:34 pm

        Problem is it isn’t the cheapest brand to experiment with!

        • October 30, 2015 / 5:36 pm

          No exactly the blushes are £20 quid for something that’s average quality at best – there might be a few gems hidden within the line, but I’m not really willing to pay to discover them!

          • October 30, 2015 / 7:02 pm

            Agreed, there’s a lot of drugstore that is way better. I haven’t tried the blushes because paying £20.00 for a card box doesn’t appeal to me 😛

  3. October 30, 2015 / 3:36 pm

    Believe it or not I suffered from dry eye lids once thanks to neutrogenas makeup removing wipes, never again! It was the most painful week of my life LOL

  4. October 30, 2015 / 3:51 pm

    I’m not a Benefit fan either – unlike theBalm who also does cardboard packaging in kitschy styles – but I don’t find Benefit products anything special. Oh wow, this primer looks WHITE – I can’t imagine that going on my lids. And honestly what the heck with add the BB cream name to an eyelid primer? Utter crock!

    • October 30, 2015 / 4:32 pm

      It is utter rubbish isn’t it, what can we stick BB, CC, DD… on now. Eyelid primer hooooray! I don’t get the blush boxes at all, why do they need to be so chunky – theBalm’s are so travel friendly compared to those which take up half your makeup bag! We tend to get the new benefit products in magazines 2 or 3 times a year in magazines here, so I always take up the opportunity to try them then, thinking this will be the product I like. But no, still no good for me!

  5. Anne
    October 31, 2015 / 9:08 am

    Such an odd shade for a eye base. And dry eye lids? Use some eye cream, not a long lasting eye shadow base.
    I have to admit I am with you on benefit in general: I haven’t gotten along with it so far, but then i also haven’t tried that much as it is quite pricy here.

  6. October 31, 2015 / 3:52 pm

    I’m not a Benefit fan either. I use Hoola for contouring, it’s a good product. But one of the WORST products I ever bought was from Benefit. Their liquid liner. WOW, what a shitty product it was. I’m really into shadow and lashes so I believe in primer and it makes the color pop but I don’t like the shiny frosty pigment in this one either. It’s like circa 1975. LOL

    • October 31, 2015 / 5:10 pm

      It’s completely unflattering, I really don’t know who it would suit! I’m so glad others are owning up to not being benefit fans, I’ve always thought i was the only one – was starting to think I was going mad haha!

  7. October 31, 2015 / 5:55 pm

    I always hesitate when looking at Benefit and never actually pick anything up. My sister loves the cult faves Hoola and They’re Real [I haven’t tried either] but the only thing I really liked was the “Gimme Brow”. Then L’Oreal came out with the “Brow Artist Plumper” and that was just the same but for a third of the price. I find Benefit quite gimicky!

    • October 31, 2015 / 8:33 pm

      Same, I’ve tried they’re real liner and mascara and didn’t like either, the mascara was okay but for me didn’t warrant the price tag – or the hassle it takes to get it off!

      • November 1, 2015 / 12:04 am

        I didn’t like the They’re Real liner 🙁 yeah they are over priced tbh!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: