Mario Badescu Drying Lotion Review

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion Review

I heard great things about the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion at the tail end of last year, so when I spotted a set on the Beauty Bay for cheaper than I would have bought this for by itself I decided to dive in and give it a try and I’ve been trialling it since January.

Mario Badescu is fast becoming one of the first places I turn when it comes to skincare – their Seaweed Cleanser is probably my all time favourite and I’m very glad to now have it back in my life after trying to take a hiatus from it for few months whilst I used other things up, my skin was the best it had ever been last year and since I stopped using it, my skin has gone crazy – had the mother of all toddler-esque fits, like it’s shouting and screaming in the supermarket because it’s not allowed a pack of chocolate buttons.

The Drying Lotion is an intense spot treatment which is designed to help heal spots faster. I think we’ve heard enough that my skin is having a little moment, which I’m hoping is down to stress rather than anything else as I’ve cut everything out of my routine and started again and they seem to keep coming. I’ve been getting large, painful pressure spots which never come to a real head on my right cheek initially but now more chin area. I don’t want them there in 6 weeks time and I’m trying to get all my wedding jobs done ASAP so I can relax throughly and hopefully see them calm down before the big day, where I don’t want to feel like a spotty teenager.

mario-badescu-drying-lotion-review

This comes in two different bottles and the choice of it is quite odd to me, mine comes in a plastic bottle and theres a second version which comes in a glass bottle. As far as I can tell the product is the same, however when I look online the glass bottle version seems to look slightly different in colour. But the product contains the same amount of product (1 fluid oz) and comes at the same price (£14 on the Beauty Bay), if one was a smaller plastic one for travel and one was slightly larger one you reach for every day that sits on your vanity, but the fact that they’re the same size feels a bit of an odd choice to me.

mario-badescu-drying-lotion-separation

This is a product which you let settle (and don’t do what I did initially and shake it and had to wait for the next day to use) – The top of the product is basically pure alcohol and the bottom sediment is what you actually want and need on your skin. With a Cotton Bud (or Q tip for anyone else), you dip it to the base of the product and wipe the pink stuff on any spots that you have.

mario-badescu-drying-lotion-cotton-bud

Now for some grim descriptions, sorry but that’s probably what you want to know if you’re investing in a spot treatment. Over spots which haven’t been popped despite my best trying this does absolutely nothing, even over a course of days I’ve not found that this helps reduce them. With popped broken skin this helps dry it out faster and usually by the next morning it’s managed to dry out what’s left inside, the alcohol content of this is so high it stings for a good few minutes and is almost eyewatering. However using this constantly on the same spot over a number of days doesn’t help heal it any faster and that high volume of alcohol can make the skin quite dry and the spots almost scabby.

mario-badescu-drying-lotion-instructions

I like this but it isn’t as good as my expectations were. It’s good for initially drying out a spot – but it’s a shame this doesn’t seem to work on unbroken skin, whilst I get great satisfaction out of popping spots (especially in the relieving the pressure of the ones I’ve had recently), I don’t enjoy doing it. My skin seems to scar quite easily and the fact this makes spots super scabby means past day one it’s really not a help – it didn’t meet my high hopes of what I’d heard from other people.

If you’ve got any products which are miracle workers for you, please let me know, I need as much help as I can get in the next few weeks to get my skin back on track. I hope you enjoyed my Mario Badescu Drying Lotion review.

This is available to buy from the Beauty Bay /  Plastic Bottle

rachael-signature

FacebookInstagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

21 Comments

  1. April 10, 2017 / 7:05 am

    I’m having some spots liked you described too! This product does look really pretty though! Great blog post! Feel free to check out my most recent post too!

  2. April 10, 2017 / 10:45 am

    Oh I’ve heard so much about this brand, thankyou for the review x

  3. Sophie in Wonderland xo
    April 10, 2017 / 11:31 am

    My thoughts on this are exactly the same it has reduced spots at all! I still need to let you know about my bottle soz!xxx

  4. April 10, 2017 / 11:35 am

    Thank you for this review, I have been wanting to try it! Too bad it doesn’t work on the unbroken ones!

  5. April 10, 2017 / 11:40 am

    So glad someone else isn’t a huge fan of this! I hated it, I didn’t even find it to help in any way so I’m glad you got something out of it! I’ve honestly found that tea tree oil works so much better and is a lot better for your skin! Loved reading this as always x
    my latest post ♡

    • April 10, 2017 / 12:36 pm

      I’d only seen positive reviews if it before I bought it and since I’ve only seen negative! Tea tree is great for my skin, it works slower but doesn’t leave my skin looking dry even after days of use!

  6. April 10, 2017 / 12:54 pm

    Aw bummed you weren’t blown away! This stuff has been a life saver for me! When my skin is acting up, I usually apply their buffering lotion all over a freshly washed face & then apply the drying lotion to any troubled spots. It’s been a good combo for me, I even got my boyfriend his own bottles because he loved using them so much! LOL Unbroken/cystic-type pimples are the worst, I have yet to find a miracle product for them. If I can pop any part of it and night and then follow the steps above, I usually see good results. XO

  7. April 10, 2017 / 2:14 pm

    Great review! I’ve being wondering about this for a long time but I think I can give it a miss now.
    The whole point, for me at least, is to not have to pop a zit. Might as well just pop it and put toothpaste on it like the old days as use this.

  8. April 10, 2017 / 2:19 pm

    ah .. I always was skeptical about this one. Thanks for the review!

  9. April 10, 2017 / 2:34 pm

    That’s odd there’s a glass version and plastic bottle version… I guess like you said, for travel? But yeah, it’d make more sense to have a smaller size for travel.
    What you described about its effects on popper versus non-popped (those deep cystic ones ugh) sounds like how I thought this MB Drying Lotion would perform. I think for the cystic ones, you need some SERIOUS stuff like BHA, benzoyl peroxide or retinoids.

    • April 10, 2017 / 2:46 pm

      Luckily in the past few weeks i haven’t had any new ones, (I think the reintroduction of the seaweed magic cleanser is to credit or it’s a coincidence) but the alpha Arbutin and glycolic acid seem to be really helping heal up what’s there in a non drying way.
      Considering how strong this is I’d expect it to do something on non popped, but the fact it does nothing is disappointing!

  10. April 10, 2017 / 4:19 pm

    I’ve heard so many good things about this I expected it to be amazing, its disappointing to hear it may not be as good as I once thought. Luckily I don’t get many spots so I think I will look for something else if I do get a breakout! x

  11. April 11, 2017 / 6:56 pm

    This sounds like an interesting product, even if it didn’t do exactly as you’ve hoped. I’ve had eternally bad skin my whole life so I’m always looking for anything that will help.

  12. April 12, 2017 / 7:52 am

    This sounds like a terrible product! Such a shame, it looks so pretty! Seriously though, I really don’t think I’ll be investing any time soon so thank you for the honest review. Have you tried Origins Super Spot Remover or Merumaya Concentrated Spot Treatment? Both work wonders for me.

    Kara
    http://www.spreadthesparkle.co.uk
    💗

    • April 12, 2017 / 9:04 am

      I’ve only tried a few products from MeruMaya and Origins, so I will take a note to put those down. Luckily in the past two weeks my skin seems to have cleared up with no new spots coming, fingers crossed it stays that way! x

  13. April 17, 2017 / 2:07 pm

    Such a shame this didn’t live up to your expectations..! I always put sudocrem on spots and haven’t really tried anything like this. Make sure you take the time out to relax a little before the wedding! xxxx

  14. Sherry Scribbles
    April 19, 2017 / 10:53 am

    Whilst it’s not really a product I would find myself reaching for, when something says its supposed to work in a particular way and then doesn’t despite all the hype, I’d be very disappointed too! What a shame it didn’t work out for you.
    Sherry x

  15. Leanne
    April 26, 2017 / 5:23 pm

    Aw no! I can’t believe this doesn’t live up to the hype – Thank you for the honest review though because I was huming and awing wether to get this or the Origins one instead of tea tree oil that I’m using but wanted something a bit faster

    I’ve only ever tried MD facial spray which I love might give some of there other products a try like that cleanser

Leave a Reply and Let's Have a Chat

%d bloggers like this: