Too Faced Melted Lipstick in Fuschia – Review & Swatch

The Too Faced Melted Lipsicks have long been on the list of products which I have wanted to try. 2015 marked the year of the birth of my liquid lipstick obsession and I couldn’t quite believe my luck when one turned up in my December 2015 My Little Box.

The colour which arrived was Fuschia – a very me Barbie pink shade on the surface, the shade is almost a smidge too blue toned, on my oliveish skin tone I don’t think it’s 100% flattering, but it’s not unwearable.

too-faced-melted-fuschia

I find the formula quite odd, it has the same dry kind of feeling that makes it feels like it’s completely locked into place, but it’s no where near as budge proof as other liquid lipsticks which I’ve tried. I kissed my partner on the cheeks whilst out Christmas shopping – thinking I’d be safe as I’ve got . Then had to do a mummy style lick on the finger clean to his face as it had left a whopping great kiss on his cheek. But as long as you’re not eating, drinking or kissing (!) it does seem to stay put.

too-faced-melted-fuschia-review-swatch-liquid-lipstick   too-faced-melted-melted-fuschia-liquid-lipstick-review

The thing I found most disappointing was the actual application itself, the product comes in a squeezy tube with a foam pad where the product squeezes through (which in self doesn’t seem very hygenic or like it would be very nice after a year for example), but my real problem with the foam pad is that I couldn’t get it to create a crisp line. Maybe that’s an issue with the small sample size, maybe it’s the same size foam pad as normal, I’m unsure! But the foam pad just creates a fuzzy outline and it will take me a lot longer than any other lip product to sit and get it looking acceptable.

too-faced-melted-fuschia-swatch

Whilst disappointed with the overall product, I’m still glad I’d received this as a sample as I know now that they’re probably not the product I’d like to try more from. I’ve recently tried the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream and have worn that most days  over the Christmas period, The formula is everything I want it to be and it’s a fraction of the cost of the Too Faced Melted ones too!

too-faced-melted-fuschia-swatch-liquid-lipstick


Have you tried the Melted range? Let me know what you thought in the comments!

rachael

Instagram: @helplesswhilstdrying  |  Twitter: @helplessdrying

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

23 Comments

  1. January 21, 2016 / 7:26 am

    This Too Faced Melted Lipstick seem to be very polarising. People either love it or hate it… I do love me some NYX SMLC. Have I suggested the Collection Cream Puffs to you? Not a wide shade range but very similar to the NYX SMLC. Here in Malaysia it is a lot cheaper than the NYX.

    • January 21, 2016 / 7:29 am

      Ooh I’ll have a look at those I’ve not heard or seen anything about them! Both brands are similarly priced here but collection is easier to access than nyx in person so I’ll make sure I have a look

      • January 21, 2016 / 7:32 am

        Got this off of their official website. You’ll be blown away how similar they are!

  2. January 21, 2016 / 8:58 am

    That’s an absolutely gorgeous colour, I think it really suits you! I’ve been after a couple of these for a while but I’m going to reconsider now if it’s not very budge-proof! Xx

    Kimberley // thecolourchronicles.com

    • January 21, 2016 / 12:33 pm

      Compared to other liquid lipsticks it doesn’t compare! Id written the review re wore it over the weekend to check I was sure it smudged and budged and It did the same again! Disappointing as it really puts me off wearing it! X

  3. January 21, 2016 / 2:48 pm

    It’s refreshing to hear a different review. I feel like people are a bit biased with their review about this product because they probably want to justify having spent a bit more on a lippie they didn’t 100% like. Most of my lippies have amazing wear, and I absolutely love NYX SMLC as well! 😀
    I guess a problem solver for this specific lipstick, would be to use a lip brush. You wouldn’t be putting the foam pad up to your lips, and you’d get a defined edge. 🙂

    • January 21, 2016 / 5:49 pm

      True but then the trouble with that is its not good for on the go and it needs touching up so frequently! Maybe it’s just this shade that doesn’t set well – but I wouldn’t want to pay the price of a full size and end up disappointed again! Xx

      • January 21, 2016 / 5:51 pm

        Yea that’s true. I wouldn’t wanna do the same either! 😖

  4. January 21, 2016 / 3:29 pm

    I remember on the height of it how I wanted that nude one so bad until I totally forgot my liking. It really is pricey for me.

  5. Love, Estelle
    January 21, 2016 / 8:10 pm

    love the colour! <3

      • January 22, 2016 / 7:57 am

        I have Melted Peony and Melted nude. With the nude mine stayed on all day without smudging I was so surprised!

  6. January 21, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    It’s so bright but it looks great on you 🙂

  7. Tou89Lou UK Lifestyle Blog
    January 22, 2016 / 9:44 am

    Yet to try out too faced. On my list

  8. January 22, 2016 / 2:22 pm

    I feel this lipstick to be more like a lip gloss. Not my favorite, but I bought it because ipsy had an offer that included one Metal Melted and a bronzer for $20 free S&H. The color didn’t suit me very well either.

      • Minimanimom
        January 23, 2016 / 1:23 am

        Oh, I meant to say like a lip tint, but not as sheer as one, but you need to reapply several times through the day. I prefer their regular creme lipsticks, formula is good and matte too.

  9. January 22, 2016 / 2:48 pm

    I’ve tried these before (I own four of them) and I actually love them! I never expected them to be a liquid lipstick of sorts, though, so maybe lower expectations caused me to be less disappointed? It does last a while if you’re not eating but it’s not the lipstick I’ll wear out to dinner or drinks!

      • January 23, 2016 / 12:53 am

        Maybe it is! Or maybe you got a bad batch? When I wear it, the gloss wears down but the color stays for quite a long time, provided I don’t eat or drink much!

Leave a Reply and Let's Have a Chat

%d bloggers like this: