Rimmel Volume Shake / Shake It Fresh Mascara Review

I know a lot of people’s go-to brands when they go to the drugstore is Rimmel, I had a quick flick back through my blog and the last beauty product I reviewed was at the end of 2015, and it’s even longer since I bought anything from Rimmel. I don’t know why but something about the brand never really captures my interest, even through the products are usually positively reviewed whenever I see them. The Volume Shake Mascara did have me intrigued however, and I picked it up in the first week of it’s release and have been putting it to the test since.

The concept behind this is that the mascara retains the same formula throughout it’s lifespan. With a shake mechanism inside which refreshes the formula and keeps it clump free. It’s shaped like a cocktail shaker, but I think personally Rimmel could have had more fun with this theme, it felt a little half-hearted for me. I’ve had this around a month now and have tested it a few different ways, I’ve tried giving it a quick shake daily, and then just giving it a shake at the end of a week – either way using it daily it never seemed to change the formula. That being said, I’ve never liked the formula from the beginning, but more on that in a minute.

The packaging of this isn’t much bigger than something like the L’Oreal Volume Million range. I have one of these which I haven’t opened and weighed them to compare on weight as due to the mechanism inside to shake up the mascara, it feels stupidly heavy in comparison. It weighs over double compared to another mascara with a similar sized packaging.

The brush inside had me excited, it looked just like the type of mascara wands I tend to love. Packed with hair bristles, chunky but not not so chunky which makes it hard to get into inner corners. On the surface everything about this mascara is right.

Whilst I wouldn’t say that it’s clumpy, I do think it’s sticky, running this through my lashes it doesn’t create a separated but also volumised effect that make my lashes look full, fluttery and dramatic. It sticks the lashes together, adds a little volume at the base – but towards the ends it looks a little spidery to me. The one thing it has going for it, is that it is very, very black and pigmented – through the day it wears away a little, not horribly – but it’s not the longest wearing mascara that I’ve tried.

Close up Swatches

 

If you want to find out more about this eye look, please click here to see the other products that I’ve used!

Overall this mascara has left me unimpressed and is exactly the kind of experience I have most of the time with drugstore mascaras, leaving me want to run back to my high end favourites immediately! The day I’ve put this up I’ve just discovered this is another item that’s been renamed for the US Market, it’s known as Shake It Fresh if you’re interested in it. If you want to buy it, you can find it on the Boot’s website here.

Have you tried this mascara?

Post contains affiliate links.

rachael-signature

FacebookInstagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

24 Comments

  1. May 8, 2017 / 10:27 am

    It seems like a good concept to shake it which I guess would help discourage people who still ‘pump’ their mascara wand but it’s a shame the mascara doesn’t live up to expectations :/ great review x

  2. May 8, 2017 / 11:50 am

    Aww that’s so unfortunate honestly. Everyone keeps raving on about it I was so close to picking it up. Loved reading your review! x

  3. May 8, 2017 / 3:26 pm

    What eyeshadow are you wearing Rach?! Looks gorgeous☺ I find drugstore ones do nothing for me. Either looks like I’ve barely got anything on my lashes or they look clumpy x

    • Stila magnificent metals rose gold retro, full review is linked in this post! Completely agree with you, i find with the big volume mascaras they usually have to high end for them to deliver!

      • May 8, 2017 / 3:47 pm

        Of course! I love the look of the Stila metals😍 Definitely. Drug store mascaras mean my lashes look thin and spindly x

        • Yes the only two I’ve actually gotten on with is a covergirl one and the maybelline lash sensational!
          Have you seen the first two items for the tili box?

          • May 8, 2017 / 3:56 pm

            I have what do you think so far? I like Roller Lash it’s what I’m using atm, although I have two more tubes I got duty free so don’t really need another one. I wasn ‘t a fan of the Liquid Gold but I know it’s a slightly different version of it so I’d give it a try x

          • I don’t like roller lash on me but can live with a sample of it if I like the other products. I have my liquid gold away to a friend and never tried it, I’d be interested to try it but she had asked if I had tried it so ended up giving it to her as I knew it would be ages til I got round to it haha. It’s a bit disappointing to see essentially the same product again though, I’m not sure added rose water is going to make much difference in an already potent product!

          • May 8, 2017 / 4:35 pm

            Yeah I agree. I wasn’t excited to see it. I’ll give it another try but I can’t see it working! I don’t like such harsh skin care. Aaw I like the mascara but my mini tube I’m using seems harder to remove than I remember. Seems a bit sticky annoyingly. Fingers crossed there’s some good products in the rest of the box. Cx

          • I think my lashes are too long naturally for roller lash, and makes them spidery, but I’m not the target market it’s meant for people with short lashes with little or no curl, if I do get it I’ll probably put that item in my giveaway box

          • May 8, 2017 / 5:38 pm

            I think I might do the same. I can’t get through that many tubes of the same mascara x

  4. Sophie in Wonderland xo
    May 8, 2017 / 4:45 pm

    I’m glad to see a review from someone who has purchased it, every tom dick and harry were sent it! it seems all very meh to me I don’t have any desire to try it tbh! xxx

    • Yep I know I only saw a few negative reviews from people who were sent it for free! I think it’s a terrible mascara! I hate that it’s heavy and it’s not even worth the weight!

  5. May 8, 2017 / 7:57 pm

    Omg. I feel the same about Rimmel products. Your lashes were stick together and I can see from the photos. Ooh I have reviewed their high coverage foundation and it was total fail. You should see on my photos what is going on. I don’t know why that has so much good reviews. I tried it and was dissapointed just as you. I won’t try any more from Rimmel. Don’t like their quality eventho they are high in price too …

  6. May 8, 2017 / 9:38 pm

    As I’m reading this and seeing the results, I’m thinking – you can do better! That’s been my experience with Rimmel mascaras – they’re ok but there are better ones out there at the drugstore. The only Rimmel mascara I liked was that comb one from eons ago.

  7. Laura
    May 9, 2017 / 1:06 am

    Shame it wasn’t a winner. It’s so hard to find a perfect mascara! I love your nail polish btw!

    She Likes to Shop

  8. May 10, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    This is my new favourite mascara so I’m sad that you don’t like it! I agree that the shake mechanism doesn’t seem to make any difference to me though! xxx

  9. May 10, 2017 / 10:20 pm

    Aww gutted you didn’t like it. I love Rimmel for affordability and reliability but I haven’t tried their mascaras before so was hoping for positive feedback. Finding a good mascara can be so hard, especially if you don’t want to pay a lot. Sidebar – your nails are beautiful! Is that a polish? Where can I get it?

    • May 10, 2017 / 11:13 pm

      It’s a combination of gel polishes, one called laven-darling and a silver glitter I can’t for the life of me remember the name of haha!
      I haven’t really tried much from them recently, I’ve dabbled in a few bits, foundations especially but not ventured much further and never into their mascaras, this was a disappointing start!

  10. May 11, 2017 / 11:56 am

    Rimmel mascaras are my favourite because of the bristles as opposed to the plastic brushes! This looks lovely on your lashes but fair enough if it isn’t your cup of tea x

  11. May 29, 2017 / 8:52 am

    i’ve got this and i don’t like it at all! i was very disappointed 🙁

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: