Abody Gel Lamp Review

I was contacted about reviewing a new gel lamp just after I decided that my Sensationail one was ready for the bin as it was no longer curing properly. This is a review of the Abody SUN9C lamp which is probably my favourite lamp that I’ve tried so far.

This lamp comes in three colours – Pink, Blue and Green, I got the pastel pink version. This is an LED UV Gel lamp so it cures both LED and UV gel polishes rather than just one. The Build feels sturdy and the light from this lamp feels less harsh on the eyes as some lamps in the past I’ve had have felt so bright that I’ve almost wanted to put sunglasses on as I can’t bare to look directly at them. Sometimes I’ve also felt like they’ve made my skin feel tingly – the LED seems to help diffuse the intensity of the feeling and makes it more comfortable.

abody-gel-polish-lamp-review-uv-led-4

At the top of the machine there is a counter, which counts up from 0-99, the lamp is motion sensitive so simply all you have to do is slip your hand under and the lamp will automatically switch itself on without having to press any buttons. When you pull your hand away the machine stops, so there’s no risk clipping your mani by having to play with any buttons (we’ve all been there!).

abody-gel-polish-lamp-review-uv-led-2

By no means am I saying I’ve turned professional, but I have started doing gel nails for my Mum. She has a very hands on and manual job and normal nail polish won’t hold up a day – I did her nails in September for a friends wedding, after they lasted 3 weeks on her she was converted. With the other lamp that I bought I found it much more difficult to angle – but these over arching lamps are favoured by nail techs and I can see why – it’s much easier to reach over and place over your clients hand – and you can easily cure 5 nails at a time – and easily fit a foot under there.

abody-gel-polish-lamp-review-uv-led-3

Product sent for review but opinions are 100% my own. I have found that this machine takes a little longer to cure polishes than the lamps I’ve had in the past where generally a sixty second wait is all that’s been needed, this one it’s 90 seconds – but the fact I can do my hand as a whole rather than having to do my fingers separately more than makes up for it.

abody-gel-polish-lamp-review-uv-led-5

Ta-da! Shiny nails!

This lamp is available for around £20-22.50 on Amazon here (amazon prices change all the time!) and I have an exclusive discount code ‘PKQHRGD7’ to give you £4.52 if you’d like to start doing gel manicures at home! Code is valid until 30/11/2016 at 23.59PM.

Reviews are 100% my own whilst the product was received in exchange for review. Thanks Mum for being my hand model!

rachael-signature

FacebookInstagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

18 Comments

  1. Kathyj
    October 15, 2016 / 6:50 am

    I have always wanted to give gel manicures a go!
    Kathy x

  2. livilovessite
    October 15, 2016 / 10:02 am

    I’m going to be doing freelance nails so, and I’ve been looking for good tools to use and this one looks really good! 😀 I’m very impressed x

    • October 15, 2016 / 8:03 pm

      One of my friends is a professional nail tech and beautician and this reminds me of her lamp which was 5 times the price. So far I’ve used it on myself and my mum and I’ve had 3 weeks wear on both so far! Professional results without the price tag! X

      • livilovessite
        October 15, 2016 / 9:17 pm

        Thanks for sharing this 😀 x

  3. October 15, 2016 / 10:07 am

    Are there any risks with using a lamp? I would be worried about exposure to UV rays but I am not sure about the technology behind a lamp like this.x

    • October 15, 2016 / 7:58 pm

      As far as I’m aware no, I would have thought it there was enough danger in using them nail salons would be forced to apply spf to you which has never happened in my experience. I think the strength of the uv is much lighter than say a sunbed

      • October 15, 2016 / 7:59 pm

        That’s good to hear! 😊

  4. October 16, 2016 / 12:08 am

    I wonder if I can do my own gel nails? Most of the lights use LED lights though and not UV light. I’d be afraid UV light would be ultimately aging my hands. I thought all the new ones were LED now.

    • October 16, 2016 / 11:22 am

      Some polishes require uv light some require led so depends on the brand of polish you want to use on which lamp you need as long as you picked an led curing polish you could avoid it completely all of the lamps I’ve had in the past have happened to be dual uv and led but I’m guessing there’s just led ones out there

      • October 16, 2016 / 5:51 pm

        OHHHH I didn’t know that! Interesting. I am taking off my acrylics and I want to strengthen my natural nails and stop paying 200 bucks a month for manicures. Do you have a recommendation for me on an LED polish line and lamp? Are they expensive? I paint like a 2 year old but a little practice and I think I can do it. If I can do a winged liner – I gotta be able to paint my nails! LOL

        • October 17, 2016 / 3:38 pm

          I use Blue Sky which is a knock off version of Shellac shades, not sure if you guys can get it, but I normally get it on amazon or ebay – it’s the same as shellac but without the pricetag, my best friend who is a professional uses it. They’re about £5 ish a bottle, compared to a £30+ manicure you’d soon be saving, you could easily spend way less than one months mani spends and have loads of colour options!
          Gel helps the nails grow as well, I’ve just started doing them on my mum at the start of Sept, who has a manual job and she hasn’t had one broken nail, her hands look completely different!
          You can do it, for the longest time I couldn’t paint my nails and could never do anyone else’s either – sit at a table, nice flat surface and take your time.

          • October 17, 2016 / 9:02 pm

            I think what I’ll do is… go in and get the remaining acrylics removes (as opposed to chewing them off) and then get a gel manicure and then from that point on…. do my own. Oh… how are you getting the gel off? Are you soaking them in acetone or do you buff it off?

          • October 17, 2016 / 10:32 pm

            Buff the top layer off then soak in acetone with a cotton pad with some kitchen foil wrapped round, keeps the heat in so works quicker, and saves fingers going wrinkly! xx

  5. October 17, 2016 / 1:53 am

    I like UV gel polishes on occasion but I’m still iffy about using them all the time, due to the UV lamp. That said, this one looks so spacious! The salons I go to have ones like this where you can put your whole hand in too.

  6. October 25, 2016 / 5:17 pm

    That’s an awesome lamp! Mine only does 1 finger at a time. It’s a total pain.

Leave a Reply and Let's Have a Chat

%d bloggers like this: