Milani Plumrose Lipstick – Swatch & Review

Milani was one of the few brands I wanted to check out in the New York Drugstores when I went last week – I don’t know if I was unlucky because we didn’t really shop anywhere other than the heart of Manhattan tourist hot spots or whether this is a regular occurrence – but out of the 3 Duane Reeds and 1 CVS I went to – the Milani stand in particular was severely picked over.

new-york-haul-milani-plumrose-lipstick

Plumrose was a shade which I gravitate towards straight away – which was a recurring theme on the trip as everything I bought in New York was beautiful rosey nudes – this one as the name would suggest has a slight plum undertone to it too. Plumrose has a beautiful glossy sheened finish, which feels moisturising on the lips – but without the feeling that it’s going to budge or smudge everywhere – it’s the perfect balance of being moisturising but not overly creamy. After about an hour the shininess fades down and leaves a satin lipstick in it’s place that looks nice and glossy.

milani-plumrose-swatch-review

As Plumrose wears it only gets better – the sheen fades away gracefully and leaves you with an almost – but not quite – matte lip which just looks gorgeous. I’ve had a few compliments when it’s freshly applied but more when it’s dried down after an hour. It’s well pigmented and has great staying power too – after 3 -4 hours it’s still on the lips. It doesn’t last fantastically through eating, but it does fine with drinking.

milani-plumrose-swatch

We’re now able to get Milani in the UK online from Milani themselves (Hurrah!)- and I’ll be getting some more of this line, at only £5.99 each these are a bargain – and I was also eyeing some blushes, but there were no shades left on the stands that interested me, so an online order will happen soon! I recently picked up on of their liquid lipsticks and I’ll be buying more & reporting back on them ASAP!


What are your favourite Milani products that  I should try out?

rachael-signature

FacebookInstagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

44 Comments

  1. August 24, 2016 / 6:38 am

    This color looks amazing on you! I never bothered to try out Milani but with this review and swatch, I need to! xx

    • August 24, 2016 / 12:13 pm

      The very limited number of items I’ve managed to get my hands on so far have left me seriously impressed. Give them a go, I don’t think you’ll regret it! xxx

  2. August 24, 2016 / 9:35 am

    It looks so
    gorgeousss that lipstick! <3 Today I will receive some products from Milani and I can't wait to try them! :*

  3. August 24, 2016 / 10:53 am

    This colour really suits you, so gorgeous xx

  4. August 24, 2016 / 12:07 pm

    This shade looks beautiful on you Rachael! X

  5. August 24, 2016 / 12:55 pm

    Lovely shade!

  6. August 24, 2016 / 2:12 pm

    Great colour choice! I received a bright pink colour from a giveaway and have been to chicken to wear it yet. I might have to mix it with a nudey colour to mute it down. I’ve heard the formula is amazing… makes me wonder why we ever pay more money for high end makeup! πŸ˜‰

    • August 24, 2016 / 2:15 pm

      I know, I always go back and forth between falling in love with a new formula/range, stock up on it, find something new then do the same. Doesn’t matter whether it’s high end or low end, i love which ever is new most!

      • August 24, 2016 / 3:01 pm

        Like moth to flame…. πŸ˜›

  7. August 24, 2016 / 2:54 pm

    That colour is gorgeous. I didn’t know you could get it over here now, so I’ll be looking online😊 x

  8. August 24, 2016 / 5:22 pm

    I have this shade too and it’s one of my favorites for everyday! I love Milani lipsticks, they are some of the best formulas at the drugstore. Great review! XO -Kim
    http://www.thethirtysomethinglife.com

  9. August 25, 2016 / 5:04 pm

    Omg I think I wanted this shade!!! My Walgreens doesn’t have the entire Milani line though 😭 I have to go hunting for it lol

  10. August 25, 2016 / 5:49 pm

    I have this, too! The color is amazing on you – I just didn’t like the scent at all.

  11. MyStyleInsideOut
    August 27, 2016 / 12:59 am

    Duane Reed doesn’t have a lot of Milani products (I don’t know why) I look forward to go there because of TheBalm cosmetics which unfortunately CVS and other drugstores here doesnt carry. But this lipstick shade yoy got is so pretty.. Looks perfect on you.. Milani products are the best!

    • August 30, 2016 / 10:05 am

      There was one Duane Reade that had a big display of Milani, but it looked like the apocolypse was on it’s way and the stand had been raided – there was so many colours and products sold out completely and I found that to be the same everywhere when it came to Milani for some reason! Yes I loved seeing a few Balm products in there, whilst I didn’t buy any I have added some on my hitlist as we can get it here relatively easily now! We didn’t venture far enough out to go to a CVS, Duane Reades really have a monopoly on the city centre πŸ™ Next time!

      • MyStyleInsideOut
        August 30, 2016 / 7:12 pm

        Yes, Duane is the related to Walgreens which is what we have here but completely different from Duane’s products.. They have better selection too but a little bit pricey.. I don’t even recall seeing CVS down at the city or maybe not at Manhattan anyway.. Hehe

  12. Kathyj
    August 29, 2016 / 12:50 am

    lovely pick! I’ve a whole bunch of Milani products on my list as well
    Kathy x

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: