Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Review

I was really happy when I received the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara recently, as the UK’s current best selling mascara I was curious as to what it had to offer, especially as I’m normally someone who takes a liking for ones which are more on the pricey side, and at only around the £6 mark – I was hoping it would be one which could turn my love for high end into a thing of the past.

maybelline-lash-sensational-mascara-review

I’ve now had this for about a month, which I think is the right length of time to test, a mascara definitely isn’t the same on day 1 as it is on day 30 (which I say all the time I know!) . Lash Sensational has a curved rubber wand, and again that’s not the normal type of mascara I gravitate towards, with a normal love for traditional bristled wands! The wand is designed to be first used with the curve fitting against your lashes to help capture even the smallest lashes – with a second coat then being turned so the curve reflects against the lashes to add volume and length. Personally I don’t like this approach, I find it clumsy and more messy ending up with mascara all over my eye shadow – and the results are no different as to if I just used the other side of a brush for a quick second coat.

maybelline-lash-sensational-mascara-brush

Between coats I do find you have to pretty much go in for a second one straight away – leaving it a minute between tends to make the lashes start sticking together at the ends – a look which isn’t the best. It doesn’t however seem to clump at all, it’s lengthening and separating – it does add volume but not as much as I normally like – plus it doesn’t budge through the day with no transferring or flaking.

maybelline-lash-sensational-review

Overall, I do like it – but I don’t love it, compared to my favourite Too Faced Better than Sex, it adds more volume, length, doesn’t clump or flake. If you don’t like spending a lot of money in a mascara then I would thoroughly recommend – personally I don’t mind spending £15/£20 on a product which will last me 3 or so months and I’ll really love over one that I’ll just like – but I know that’s not for everyone, especially in terms of mascara!


Are you a high end or a drug store mascara lover? Let me know your favourites!

You can find this on the Boots’ website here if you are interested in giving it a try for yourself.

Post contains affiliate links.

rachael

Instagram: @helplesswhilstdrying  |  Twitter: @helplessdrying

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

24 Comments

  1. December 9, 2015 / 8:33 am

    I’ve been looking for a great mascara forever, thank you so much for this review!

  2. December 9, 2015 / 8:35 am

    I recently bought this too! I absolutely love it!

  3. December 9, 2015 / 1:50 pm

    I am a drugstore mascara person only because it does cost a LOT more where I come from to repurchase a higher end mascara, again, like you said, for something that lasts 3-6 months; not justified! But hey, we can always agree to disagree right? πŸ™‚ I am actually waiting for a good discount to purchase this mascara…

    • December 9, 2015 / 3:47 pm

      I think it depends how you look at it, I could definitely get by with drugstore mascara – but I would rather love it than like it. It’s the same with everything for me though, if I love the drugstore version that’s great – but if I’m not satisfied I don’t mind spending more. Mascara is the one thing that I will wear every day – so I think its justified to spend more to get what i love!

  4. December 9, 2015 / 3:08 pm

    I bought this recently and it’s in my queue! I generally really like Maybelline mascaras – they just work well for me.

    You barely need mascara at all, though! :p Lucky! Haha!

    • December 9, 2015 / 3:42 pm

      I know I put false eyelashes on the other day thinking, this will make my eyelashes look amazing, then was like oh – they look the same as if I was wearing mascara! I used to like the falsies one but I think that’s the only other I’ve tried!

  5. December 9, 2015 / 5:34 pm

    I found this mascara quite similar to benefits roller lash mascara! but between them both i found the maybellene one so much better. I’m definitely a drug store mascara gal xx

    • December 9, 2015 / 7:34 pm

      I didn’t get on with roller lash at all – found it made my lashes look spidery with no volume, but it is targeted with people with short lashes which isn’t me! X

        • December 9, 2015 / 7:47 pm

          The application process of the two though reminds me of the same as this, couldn’t layer either of them and the rubber brush seemed similar just different shape

  6. December 9, 2015 / 9:41 pm

    What’s it like to remove? A couple of Maybelline mascaras I’ve tried are a pain to get off!

  7. December 9, 2015 / 9:53 pm

    I really loved this mascara!! It just seemed to dry out really fast and not last as long but otherwise I just adored it! I have the Too Faced mascara as well and I feel like that brush is too big for my eyes. I always get mascara on my lids with it. I love the formula though but I have to be really careful when using that one. xo

    • December 9, 2015 / 11:17 pm

      I’ve had this for about 6 weeks and I think it’s now just on the turn of drying out too much. Yeah precision is key with tfbts!

      • December 9, 2015 / 11:20 pm

        Yeah that sounds just about right! I might buy it again though when I run out of mascara. πŸ™‚

  8. December 9, 2015 / 11:47 pm

    I don’t like most Maybelline mascaras – for some reason they do not agree with me – they flake and smudge on me. BUT I received this mascara in a swap and I’m excited to give it a try – I am encouraged by the ribber bristles – I hope I like it!

    • December 10, 2015 / 7:37 am

      It’s probably the best from Maybelline I’ve tried, definitely not a smudge or flake in sight, hopefully it’s the same for you too!

  9. blancobeauty
    December 14, 2015 / 3:23 pm

    Looks great! I just restarted my blog and was hoping you’d take a look:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: