Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Concealer Review – Oily Skin

I’m finally getting around to reviewing this concealer just as I’ve finished it up. I purchased it back in New York – almost 2 years ago. It sat awaiting to be opened for quite some time whilst I tried to finish up other concealers – but in the past few months it’s featured in my ‘Products I’m Trying To Use Up’. It’s actually just been thrown out as part of my December empties – but I still wanted to make sure that I got to reviewing this.

This is by far the most I’ve ever spent on a concealer, for the most part I’ve found a handful of three low end concealers that work really well for me – Maybelline Age Rewind, Essence Matte Me & Bourjois Radiance Reveal are three concealers I absolutely adore and the resist to ‘spend more’ to find something better is not really required.

When I bought this back in January 2016 there was a lot of hype around it – but it was one of those products where the hype soon disappeared and suddenly it seemed to be forgotten in the beauty world. The first thing that struck me about this (after spending close to $30 on it ~ converting to £20.50) was that – oh that tube is small.

The thin walled squeezy tube with lack of doefoot applicator makes this product seem small for the price – but at 7ml in size, it’s larger or roughly the same than some other similar priced options, such as the Naked Skin concealer at 5ml, Too Faced Born This Way at 7ml & Bobbi Brown at 6ml.

One thing I will say is that the shade selection of this isn’t great – I believe this is the shade R22, which is the second palest shade. It’s labelled Pink Beige, and pink toned it ain’t. Even the palest shade Porcelain doesn’t look that pale on the website. Considering MUFE do the foundation spectrum quite well, the concealer selection feels quite lacking in comparison.

The end of the concealer is a rounded end of a smooth plastic nib, which is pretty crappy actually – for spreading it over the skin it’s useless. It carves through the product and doesn’t aid in blending or distributing nicely. Whilst the lack of doe-foot applicator cuts down on the size and weight of the tube, the applicator could be thought about a bit more to improve IMO.

Now bare in mind when I swatched these above it was July (that’s when I decided I should probably start using this up and it took until December), we’d just got back from a three week holiday and I was a lot more tanned than I am now. Below is the concealer applied thickly in the middle and blended out either side. The texture of the product is quite thin, one step away from being runny – but don’t let that fool ya, the pigment in this packs a punch.

The finish of this is semi-matte but not flat or dry which makes it a good all rounder for where ever you like to place it. I found it nice for under the eyes when it was more light on my skintone due to the light formula it added coverage but blended out well, but as I got paler it worked great for adding extra coverage to areas as well as spot concealing. The formula is great all-rounder and I can see why it garnered rave reviews when it was released, the only thing I’m surprised about is why it’s not spoken about more two years on. It’s my favourite high end concealer I’ve tried ever tried!

This has now become an empty for me in December, but it’s one I’d definitely consider repurchasing in future – I used this for around 6 months 3-4 times a week and before that I had used it for the previous 18 months on and off. This little tube does last despite how dinky it appears.


Have you tried this from MUFE? Or any high end concealer faves – I have my eyes set on the NARS soft matte concealer to try out next.

rachael-signature

FacebookInstagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

39 Comments

  1. January 17, 2018 / 6:32 am

    This concealer sounds perfect for you, glad the small tube is deceptive and it seems like you get more than it looks like you do. All they need is more shades and you’ll be sorted! x

    • January 18, 2018 / 9:57 am

      Yes! Next time I’m at a MUFE counter I will be relooking at the shades and making some notes on my phone as to which shades would work well for different times of the year in case I ever want to repurchase!

  2. January 17, 2018 / 7:57 am

    I’m the same with concealer – I’ve never really stepped not the higher end box for them, but this does sound great! Shame about the colour selection though 🙁 x x

    • January 18, 2018 / 9:58 am

      It’s one of the few items which I always tend to stick at the chemist for! There’s only a handful of ones I have my eye on that are high end to try! xxx

      • January 20, 2018 / 7:37 am

        The YSL all hours one looks pretty 👌🏻

      • January 18, 2018 / 6:38 pm

        Absolutley! Check my last post. I tried two concealers rom benefit and the brightening concealer is pretty good. x

  3. Sophie in Wonderland xo
    January 17, 2018 / 12:04 pm

    The formula sounds great but the packaging doesn’t sound to good! Especially given how expensive it is! Xxx

    • January 18, 2018 / 9:59 am

      The one thing it has going for it on the packaging front is that it’s very slimline for travel, but there’s something about it they could do to make it feel a bit more high end!

  4. rinkydinkyrhi
    January 17, 2018 / 2:32 pm

    I bought this concealer when the hype was around but I’ve never really loved the shade on me. You do only need a small amount though as it’s so pigmented. Maybe I’ll revisit it xx

    Rhi | http://www.rinkydinkyrhi.com

    • January 18, 2018 / 10:00 am

      Yes the shade selection is really odd – I definitely need to get to a MUFE counter and make some notes on shades for if I ever want to rebuy it!

  5. January 17, 2018 / 2:50 pm

    I use the Clarin’s Instant Concealer & really like it, I’m actually blown away by how long it lasts! I’ve always wondered about this one. It always intrigues me how products completely vanish from the day to day narrative on youtube when once they were the next big thing!
    I guess the market is just so saturated with new releases now that old favourites don’t stand a chance.

    • January 17, 2018 / 3:12 pm

      The Market is definitely saturated – there’s very few products that seem to stand the test of time for youtube mentions.
      I haven’t tried anything from clarins – other than maybe some skincare samples, I will definitely make a note of that to check it out!

  6. alittlekiran
    January 17, 2018 / 3:39 pm

    I remember when this concealer and pretty much everything Makeup Forever did was all the rage, I don’t hear as much about it anymore but I remember so many glowing reviews circa 2016. Great review, thanks for sharing xxx

  7. January 17, 2018 / 4:04 pm

    I have! I use that shade, R22, but as a color-correcting concealer for under my eyes. I then go in with another concealer, usually NARS soft matte to lighten the area. It is so good! Since I use so little of it, it has last me a LONG time. Would definitely consider repurchasing, mainly because I know the shade works and it’s just too much work finding a good concealer.

    • January 18, 2018 / 10:00 am

      it is a little bit salmony! NARS soft matte is next on my list to try – I need to declutter my foundation and concealer drawer a bit, but that’s the next one in!

      • January 18, 2018 / 3:42 pm

        I personally love it! I have dry skin, and can find sometimes if I use it on its own it can look a tiny bit drying but since I always pair it with the MUFU one, it’s fine. So so good!

  8. January 17, 2018 / 11:20 pm

    These pics are great! I love the quality. May I ask what camera you use? Loved this x

  9. January 18, 2018 / 4:45 am

    I haven’t ever tried a higher end concealer but this one sounds really nice! I’m such a sucker for my bargain Collection Lasting Perfection I always end up going back to it 😊 x

    • January 18, 2018 / 10:02 am

      That’s one concealer I’ve never been that bothered about! I haven’t tried it for a few years, maybe I should I’ve it another whirl!

  10. January 18, 2018 / 8:37 am

    I tried this concealer a while ago and I used the palest shade in the range and it was almost too pale but it was great for highlighting areas of the face. I wasn’t overly keen on the formula I found it too thin for my liking and even when I set it with a powder it managed to crease so badly. I did buy this concealer twice since I liked it’s highlighting properties but since I’ve found other more affordable concealers that do the job just as well. Great review lovely! X

    • January 18, 2018 / 10:03 am

      Oh wow really – I must say creasing is one issue I don’t really tend to have, there’s only one concealer that I’ve found has ever creased on me – Bourjois Healthy Mix!

  11. January 18, 2018 / 6:35 pm

    I had this years ago and I found the coverage wasn’t enough for my liking! It faded through the day as well, so I ended up using it for colour correcting since the shade I got was a bit peachy. I personally really like squeeze tube concealers – I find them more hygienic compared to doe foot applicators. Have you tried the Nars Radiant Creamy concealer? I like that one a lot, and yes the Nars Soft Matte one is high on my list. Also that darn Tarte Shape Tape!

    • January 18, 2018 / 6:46 pm

      Not pigmented!! 😮 are you sure it was the ultra hd one not the regular hd one? This one was basically pure pigment! I could wear this as foundation if I’d wanted to!
      I haven’t tried NARS radiant creamy concealer – but Molly has one with my name on it that’s way too dark for her, so as of Saturday I will do!
      I like squeeze tube ones too, I’m just not particularly keen on this ones rounded end, I’d have preferred a straight nozzle!
      Agh shape tape! I want to try that too it’s just so expensive here, forced to buy it through qvc and it comes with a sponge I probably won’t want!

      • January 19, 2018 / 2:17 am

        Ok I checked my makeup spreadsheet and you’re correct, mine wasn’t the ULTRA one. Ok, now I take back what I said. I shall have to check this ULTRA one out! Although, the colour selection might be lacking though.
        It’s obnoxious that Tarte doesn’t sell the Tape Shape at Sephora so I can only order it online, sight unseen as well.

        • January 19, 2018 / 7:11 am

          It really is! The exclusivity around the product is irritating, I don’t mind ordering stuff online if it’s somewhere in a store I can go swatch first!
          Phew I thought I was going crazy with the pigment on this one!

  12. charlottecarter2393
    January 18, 2018 / 7:38 pm

    This looks like such a great product. Sooo glad it lasts a while since it is sooo tiny!!
    x

  13. Aurelia Beauty
    February 8, 2018 / 9:34 pm

    I have this same concealer (same colour too I think) but I find no matter what I do it looks heavy under my eyes. Even then I use it sparingly and blend it out really well it looks very thick. Do you have any tips for how to apply it? I’d love to hear from you 😊

    Kat

Leave a Reply and Let's Have a Chat

%d bloggers like this: