Gerard Cosmetics Enchante Lipstick – Swatch & Review

I don’t know why but I was saving Enchante from Gerard Cosmetics until the spring, I received this at the Beauty Bay event I went to last year and I don’t think I even opened it until late December.

gerard-cosmetics-lipstick

The bullets from Gerard Cosmetics are a dead ringer in size and shape to MAC’s iconic bullets. Whilst the Gold is quite showy – which might not be to everyone’s taste, but is fairly unique – I think it would have been nice to have not used such an iconic shape. The Gerard Cosmetics packing feels heavier compared to a MAC lipstick, and you get 4g of product vs MAC’s a 3g, which surprises me as I thought it would be identical.

gerard-cosmetics-lipstick-enchante

I’d remembered Enchante as being a lot lighter and more lilac toned, but it’s a gorgeous wearable plum rose (not like plumrose from Milani, way more purple!). Enchante was create with the bloggers at Dupe That – not a blog I was familiar with, but they try and find similar shades – so in theory you would have thought that they would be attempting to create a unique colour that they wouldn’t be able to dupe, I know certainly within my collection that this is the case. One of the things I’ve really loved about wearing this shade is that it really seems to adapt how it looks depending on what colours you’re wearing. Swatched on the hands this looks quite bright, but it’s very wearable –  I have two jumpers which are berry toned, and this looks way more pink compared to when I wear it with more greys or neutrals.

gerard-cosmetics-enchante-lipstick

gerard-cosmetics-lipstick-enchante-swatch

The formulation of this is absolutely lovely, it’s such a comfortable lipstick to wear. Creamy and highlighly pigmented, it reminds me of an even more creamy formula than MAC’s Creamsheens. It glides on the lips with ease and has an almost balmy texture. As you’d expect with such a creamy formula, the wear time isn’t the longest, however for such a creamy formula I find that it’s been lasting me from when I apply my makeup in the morning before work – and by lunch time it’s worn away.

gerard-cosmetics-enchante-review

gerard-cosmetics-enchante-lipstick-review

These lipsticks are cruelty free & priced at £11.50 which compared to a MAC lipstick at £15.50 and you get 25% more product here makes them really good value. Available exclusively from the Beauty Bay website clicking here in the UK & also via their own website.

Have you tried Gerard Cosmetics?

Post contains affiliate links

rachael-signature

FacebookInstagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

38 Comments

  1. February 22, 2017 / 7:04 am

    I’ve never even heard of them! I do really like the colour though. I tend to stick with a classic red or a darker colour, so it might be nice to branch out and try something a bit different!

    • February 22, 2017 / 7:37 am

      2016 was the year of me wearing colours I’d never have worn before, I’d have looked at this and thought this won’t suit me! Sometimes I find some cheaper brands of colours just to test what shades do and don’t suit me and ones I fall in love with I then treat myself to something more expensive with a better formula!

  2. February 22, 2017 / 9:12 am

    I have never tried Gerard cosmetics but this lipstick looks so good!

  3. February 22, 2017 / 11:21 am

    Haven’t tried anything from Gerard Cosmetics! This is a great colour on you! โค๏ธ

  4. February 22, 2017 / 11:47 am

    Ah that is a stunning lipstick on you! I agree with you on the packaging – it’s kinda cool but also a bit too much like a MAC bullet.

    • February 22, 2017 / 5:21 pm

      Yeah I think it would have either looked like it was trying to copy YSL if they’d gone square or cylindrical, and now looks like a LE MAC lipstick, probably a poor choice of colour for the packaging and a poor choice of shape! The colour and formula are top notch though so I’m sold on getting more!

  5. February 22, 2017 / 2:13 pm

    This is such a nice color lipstick!

  6. February 22, 2017 / 3:18 pm

    This is such a pretty colour on you! I like that it has a bit of a sheen to it too. Looks like it’s super comfortable to wear!

  7. February 22, 2017 / 3:54 pm

    This colour looks fabulous on you! There’s something about this shade that makes it wearable – initially I was thinking “PURPLE LIPSTICK, NO WAY” but seeing it applied on you, it doesn’t look cartoon-y. The formula sounds great too.
    Out of curiosity, does it state anywhere on the packaging where this is made?

    • February 22, 2017 / 5:16 pm

      I know, when I picked it I thought I won’t wear this that much – but it’s such a wearable shade! It’s a gorgeous formula, very comfortable – reminds me of a MAC creamsheen but with better lasting power.
      It didn’t have a box with it, and I can’t see anything on the bottom label, I did see that some of their products are made in the US when I was trying to put it into the review, but I can’t confirm that’s where the lipsticks are made :/

  8. February 22, 2017 / 4:34 pm

    I like the shade – it looks great on you! I have seen so many negative reviews and controversy around this brand, so its nice to see a positive review. I haven’t tried anything from the brand yet myself.

    • February 22, 2017 / 5:17 pm

      I’ll admit that I probably wouldn’t have tried Gerard Cosmetics if I hadn’t have been gifted some items at an event, I met Jen the owner and she was lovely and helpful to me, so I couldn’t hold anything against her after that and I’m glad I did because the bits I’ve tried so far have been great!
      xxx

  9. February 22, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    Gerard has been in the middle of some scandals in the beauty world over the last couple years. Jaclyn Hill created a lipstick with them (Buttercup), but then a year or so ago she cut all ties with them for some reason. That’s between her and then though. Then I think it was last year, Jen Gerard (creator of the brand) got caught on Snapchat calling someone who gave Gerard a bad review “ugly” and laughing about it. To me they seem kind of shady (not as shady as Lime Crime though). But to each their own.

    Oh and I follow Dupe That on Instagram. They find some pretty amazing dupes for lots of lip & eye products.

    • February 22, 2017 / 5:25 pm

      Yes, i’m aware of the controversy around the brand and I had no plans I’ll admit of trying things from them. However I met Jen at an event in October and she was nothing but kind and helpful to me directly so I can’t hold any personal grudges, when I had nothing but the nicest experience chatting makeup with her and getting help of what shades I should try. xx

      • February 22, 2017 / 5:32 pm

        That’s good you had a positive experience meeting Jen. Maybe all the controversy was a good kick in the tail for her and she’s straightened out. Who knows? ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • February 22, 2017 / 5:39 pm

          Yeah can’t make the same mistakes all the time and expect to get away with it. Still not supporting Lime Crime though, I do have one I was also given at an event and even though I love it I don’t think I could bring myself to purchase more!

          • February 22, 2017 / 5:47 pm

            Oh yeah Lime Crime is just one scandal after another. They’re bad news.

  10. February 22, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    I hate their liquid lipsticks. They are total fail. I didn’t try these ones and I am scared to do that because they cost a lot here in Europe ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 22, 2017 / 9:35 pm

      They’re not too badly priced in the U.K. I personally like the liquid lipsticks I have, but I think we discussed before it seems like the formula might be hit and miss

      • February 22, 2017 / 9:37 pm

        Yeaah I remeber now. Here in Croatia they are just as pricy as Mac lipsticks.

  11. February 23, 2017 / 2:29 am

    Such a pretty shade on you! I’ve always been curious about GC lipsticks!

    Nicole | The Glam Surge

  12. February 23, 2017 / 8:01 pm

    Such a gorgeous colour on you! I’ve never used GC makeup, will have to have a look on BB now! xxx

  13. February 24, 2017 / 8:11 pm

    Such a stunning colour! I’ve heard such good things about this brand but haven’t been able to try it myself yet, Your review was really good and the colour is one I would definitely choose, might have to look them up and have a shop! xx

  14. February 25, 2017 / 12:28 am

    I definitely remember Enchante being a lot lighter and more lilac-toned, so when I saw these pictures, I couldn’t help but think they had changed the color or something since I bought it โ€” but nope, I just checked my blog post where I talked about it and it’s definitely the same color. I think that’s a sign I need to dig this one up and actually wear it! xx

    • February 25, 2017 / 7:29 am

      I think it looks totally different in the bullet to how it does on the lips! I remember us talking about GC and the controversy and I was trying to rack my brain when I was talking to Jen what shades you had! Coincidence I did pick one of the shades you had, it is lovely and I really like the formula! Xx

  15. February 27, 2017 / 4:47 am

    I expected it to be more vivid based on the swatch, but it looks so pretty on you!

  16. Sherry Scribbles
    February 27, 2017 / 2:03 pm

    I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK SO MUCH! The colour is just perfect and is so versatile for a day at work to a night on the town and cheaper than a MAC. I agree with you on the durability but I enjoy applying my lipstick throughout the day, makes me feel like a lady. Is that weird?
    Sherry x

    • February 27, 2017 / 2:08 pm

      It is so versatile, compliments so many different looks and can look really different depending on what you wear it with!
      Yes that’s weird haha, but I know where you’re coming from ๐Ÿ˜‰
      xxx

  17. March 12, 2017 / 8:24 pm

    Oh, that colour is GOR-geous!

Leave a Reply and Let's Have a Chat

%d bloggers like this: