Bare Minerals 4.0 Quad – The Soundtrack – Review & Swatches

I’ve tried very little from bareMinerals, for some reason it’s never been a brand which I’ve really gravitated towards. Since subbing to Look Incredible, I’ve had an item in each of the two boxes so far so I’m finally dipping my toe into bareMinerals’ water. The Soundtrack Quad – or 4.0 eyeshadow palette as bare minerals refers to them – has been a welcome addition to my makeup bag.

bare-minerals-the-soundtrack-eyeshadow-palette-review

The packaging of this is that matte, almost jellyish coated texture which reminds me of Nars, with a full sized mirror lid, rather than a tiny little square – I was impressed with slimline sturdy  packaging right from the offset. The shades inside are gorgeous, the stock photos I saw online didn’t do this justice in the slightest, but my eyes were popping out of my head with hearts (emoji style) when I saw this.

bare-minerals-the-soundtrack-palette-review

Containing 1 matte shade ‘Rhythm‘  – a very opaque cream, which is a perfect matte highlight for the brow bone, a metallic gold ‘Remix‘, a very foily copper bronze ‘Louder‘ which is probably my stand out shade in the palette and ‘Speaker Box‘ a dark olive brown which is halfway between a matte and a shimmer – with gold flecks running through its nice for the outer corner and adding interest to a smoked out look. All of the swatches below are just one stripe across.

the-soundtrack-palette-swatches-bare-minerals

What I like about this palette is that it isn’t quite neutral, but isn’t unwearable. Which makes a nice change from all the Naked Palette esque which are on every brands stand. I’ve had a look on the Bare Minerals stand and from what I can tell, these colours are all exclusive to this palette.

The Look

bare-minerals-4-quad-eyeshadow-the-soundtrack

Rhythm on the brow bone, Louder in the center of the lid, Remix towards the inner corner, Speaker Box on the outer lid and crease. Random light shade right in the inner corner from Maybelline the Nudes, and a matte brown from Maybelline the Nudes in the crease. Louder and Speaker Box unde the bottom lashes.

bare-minerals-the-soundtrack-palette-review-swatch

bare-minerals-the-soundtrack-review

The one colour this palette is missing for me is a mid brown matte crease transition colour, but I have plenty of those lying around so it’s not a big problem – but it would be handier for travel if it was all self contained . I’ve reached for this almost every day (at least on days where I’ve worn eyeshadow) since receiving it. They last all day long, pigment doesn’t fade in the slightest and they don’t crease at all.

At £29 for 4 shadows it doesn’t compete on value in terms of what you get from Urban Decay, but in my opinion these shadows are even better in terms of pigmentation and wear than UD’s high benchmark. I’d repurchase this palette in a heartbeat if it got lost, and I’m planning on seeing what other combinations are available in the 4.0 Quads.

Have you tried any Bare Minerals Shadows?

rachael

Instagram: @helplesswhilstdrying  |  Twitter: @helplessdrying

Pinterest: Helpless Whilst Drying

Helpless Whilst Drying

Email: helplesswhilstdrying@gmail.com

Follow:
Share:

34 Comments

  1. March 24, 2016 / 9:15 am

    Those shadows are gorgeous! I didn’t even know Bare Minerals did eyeshadows! xx

    Kimberley // thecolourchronicles.com

  2. March 24, 2016 / 12:19 pm

    I have the eyeshadow duo in The 15 Minutes and found them nowhere near as pigmented as these ones look! I had completely forgotten about the duo till I saw this – for me it was a waste of money ๐Ÿ™ Glad to see that other palettes aren’t as hopeless! x

      • March 24, 2016 / 12:27 pm

        I don’t even know – one’s a nice burgundy colour which is nice, but theres a pink in there which is so sheer and weird to use. It’s not something I would rush to get again – especially when its $31aud for the two ๐Ÿ™

        • March 24, 2016 / 12:28 pm

          Ahh, I’ll proceed with caution, I won’t order any online until I’ve been to a counter and seen some in person! Best method if theyre a bit iffy! x

  3. March 24, 2016 / 12:39 pm

    Stunnnning! Like you, I don’t usually gravitate towards BM products, but I’ve been gifted a couple of their quads in the past + they are INCREDIBLE! The pigmentation is seriously unreal + I love the shades! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. nayardt
    March 24, 2016 / 1:43 pm

    I adore the look you created!! Looks great!

  5. March 24, 2016 / 3:58 pm

    Do you have false lashes on in these pictures? Cuz if not, OMG!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    This palette totally matches your new hair colour, by the way. ๐Ÿ˜›
    If you’re travelling and you need a matte transition shade, you can either use your press powder or your bronzer. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • March 24, 2016 / 4:17 pm

      I haven’t actually dyed my hair it’s just how the blonde has gone without toner, not actually in love with it, looks better in pictures than it does in real life. I actually tried to dye it pastel pink last weekend and it didn’t take, I can see me going back pink or purple this weekend – I’m being encouraged heavily by my friends!
      Yes I’ve got lash extensions on, don’t they look incredible – this was after 3 weeks and I only had a half set! I would say it’s an expensive new habit but my bestie does them for me!
      Good plan on the shadows, I think my pressed powder would be pretty similar to the cream thats in this – I’ll have to try Bahama Mama out on the lids, I’ve not tried that yet! I have tried it with uninterrupted and it looks lovely with the coppery shade!

      • March 24, 2016 / 4:45 pm

        Do purple!
        Phew, I thought those were your natural lashes and I wanted to ask for a piece of your DNA so I can graft them onto my own lash line LOL.
        I’ve had lash extensions before but I found them more of a hassle. ๐Ÿ˜

        • March 24, 2016 / 5:07 pm

          Oh really? I’ve just had them refilled in this week and they’re making life so much easier – and even if I’m not wearing any makeup I feel a lot more put together!

          I’ll see what colours I’ve got in the cupboard of mystery lingering! The only time I’ve been purple before it turned pink after 2 washes, then went blue, then went green. Then stayed green which is the only thing that’s putting me off!

          • March 24, 2016 / 5:26 pm

            I remember I wasn’t able to use liquid liner when I had the lash extensions on, and also I couldn’t use any cleansers containing oil or else it will break down the glue. Well, I use cleansing oils nightly, so that was a pain.
            Oh yikes, green hair… um you missed St Paddy’s day with that! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Anne
    March 24, 2016 / 6:41 pm

    That slimline packaging looks lovely and I always love a decent sized mirror. I love the colors, very vivid with amazing color pay off. I can see why you are in love ๐Ÿ™‚
    xo Anne

  7. March 24, 2016 / 8:19 pm

    Love the golden color!

  8. March 25, 2016 / 12:38 am

    Amazing pay off!! I haven’t tried their eye shadow palette, thanks for sharing. I got their loose powder eye shadow, the pigments are pretty intense too.

  9. March 25, 2016 / 1:30 am

    Bare Minerals shadows are amazing and so under-rated! I have a duo from them that I absolutely love. Love the look you created!

  10. March 26, 2016 / 9:07 pm

    Is that Lolita on your lips? Those shadows look beautiful, I need to try out bareMinerals shadows! xx

  11. March 27, 2016 / 9:42 am

    I’ve been wanting to try out bare minerals for ages. This palette looks absolutely gorgeous (and so do you) xx

  12. March 29, 2016 / 10:05 am

    I seriously need this mini palette โ˜บ๏ธ

  13. March 29, 2016 / 10:27 am

    Just mentioned your gorgeous blog in my blog ๐Ÿ’

  14. Nadine
    March 29, 2016 / 5:14 pm

    Such a pretty palette! I love the look you created and your hair is looking stunning too! xx

  15. March 29, 2016 / 4:27 pm

    The metallic shades are gorgeous! X

Leave a Reply and Let's Have a Chat

%d bloggers like this: